First Week At Lakeshore…

So I just wrapped up my first week at Lakeshore. I’m enjoying my first full day off in um…18 days as I count. Change and transitions are not always easy but I’m really excited to be a part of the team at Lakeshore.

Most of this week has been me just getting settled in, meeting people, learning the ropes, etc… Oh yeah and setting up my toys… I mean tools to work with.

They set me up with a MacPro. It’s the 8 core 2.26 GHz with 16 GB of Ram. To say the least it’s fast. At Grace I was working on a 2007 MacPro Quad (2.66 GHz I think) with 8GB of RAM. And this new MacPro blows it away. I created some basic countdowns this week but just to push the machine a little bit I decided to make some templates in 1080p and 720p and this machine tears it up.

One odd thing is what activity monitor shows.
ocho

If you count it’s showing 16 cores and they’re pegged while compressor was encoding. I don’t know if it’s supposed to show 16 cores or if it’s actually showing something else. But this machine is fast.

To go along with the MacPro I got setup with some Blue Sky Exo monitors. Blue Sky has a good reputation in the studio and these are their budget/ entry level system. For the type of work I do they work great. They give me a full range sound at a decent price.

For a display I’m using a 24″ Dell. I’d love an Apple Cinema Display but I just can’t justify the price.

April 24, 2009. Tech Stuff.

One Comment

  1. Mike Sessler replied:

    Glad to hear the first week went well! Change is indeed exciting, and I trust the new gig will be a great fit.

    I’ll second the amazing speed of the new MacPros. I upgraded my editor from the same one you had (2.66 Quad) to a 2.8 8-core and the speed boost is stunning. I have “only” 6 Gigs of RAM, but it’s cut rendering time in 1/2. I am always amazed that I can be rendering video in the background, playing iTunes, surfing the web and screen-sharing to my MBP with no slowdown at all.

    I re-purposed the “old, slow” MacPro as our server, and according to the logs, it’s yet to hit more than 20% of processor usage. Crazy speed.

    Looking forward to seeing some of your upcoming work!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

