It’s The Time of Year I Feel Like Quitting.

Every year in October I want to quit my job. Why October? Because every year we host a conference for pastors called North Texas Leadership Conference. It’s not even the whole month, it’s really just the week of the conference. And this week is that week.

I don’t want to come across too negative. The conference is great. We’ve had some great speakers. Some of my favorites over the years have been Samuel Chand and Craig Groeschel.

I love the heart of the conference. We limit the number of pastor and our church really focuses on pouring into these pastors. In fact we run the conference at a lost. We feed them a nice dinner. They walk away with 6-8 books that our Pastor has enjoyed reading. And we only charge $50 because our pastor remembers a time when he couldn’t afford to buy a book. He had to return to the bookstore for a few days to finish reading it.

But I still feel like quitting during this time of year. Why?
– The weekend still comes at the end of every week
– My designs get micromanaged but I get very little direction on the design
– There is no way for me to pull off the quality we do on the weekend for the conference because so much of it’s last minute. This really frustrates me. Example our sermon graphics for the weekend, take me 1 hour if I have the background designed. These leadership lessons are longer and can take me 2-3 hours per lesson. I have about 10 lessons I get on Monday for a conference that starts on Thursday. So I have to cut corners and it bugs me.
– No matter how hard I try no one really understands how long it takes to design something or make a video.
– It could be so much better but I don’t get the time or the help to make it better.

But I’m not going to quit today. These feelings are natural especially for someone who works in a create on demand job. I have a high standard and drive for excellence to it really frustrates me when I’m not given the time or the resources to make something the best that I think it can be.

So what do I do when I want to quit? I’m going to smile and work hard. I might vent a few times with some close friends. But I’m going to get through this. This isn’t my first time around here. I know it’s going to pass.

If you’re the praying kind, I’d appreciate a prayer or two this week. And as I’m writing this you can tell I have little kids in my house because I have a line from Finding Nemo stuck in my head, “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming.”

October 14, 2008. Personal Growth.

3 Comments

  1. Brad Zimmerman replied:

    I will be praying for you!! And I will pray for change with the people you work with. And know that your works are not going unnoticed by the one person that this is all for, Christ himself.

  2. Dave replied:

    Brad,
    Thanks for your prayers. I wrestled with the idea of writing this post. I didn’t want to come across too negative but I wanted to be honest. I know I’m not the only one to wrestle with the desire to quit from time to time. But I wanted to let other’s know they’re not alone and hopefully it’s just a tough season that you can work through.

  3. Adam Oas replied:

    I’m in crunch mode myself. We’ve got 3 BIG race weekends each year and invariably a few days out from the races, everyone has a new request. I’m in the same boat where what ends up suffering is not only my sanity and sleep, but also the quality of the work, and that’s a big deal to me.

    We’re under 2 weeks from race time so it’s back to the grindstone for me!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

