Color Correction can save your…

Color correction can save your… shoot. Here’s the raw image from a shoot from the intro video we showed last week.

I hate using the built in view finder of flip out display to gauge proper exposure. I typically run the image through my laptop and use the scopes in FCP (more in this older post) but this was a little more run and gun. One thing that appeals to me about the new HP-170 from Pannasonic is a built in scope for exposure. I think it’s a histogram but I’m going from memory.

Being on my color grading kick I ran the footage through Apple’s Color. The clip has a primary, two secondary, a color fx and then a primary out correction. I really like the workflow inside Color. I found it much easier and faster to work in than After Effects. What I don’t like about Color is how I get my footage in and out. I’d really like to see it integrated better with a FCP workflow. I think I’d like it to work more like a plug-in like Magic Bullet Looks. Enough talk here’s what I ended up with.

Because the clip was so under exposed I boosted a lot of gain. I didn’t try to reduce the grain other than the color fx styling that’s going on. Thankfully playing on large projectors and the average viewer at 25-75 feet away you get away with alot.

October 8, 2008. Tags: , , . Video.

2 Comments

  1. Brent Homer replied:

    I would love you to make a screencast to show how you did that. I never had any color training before. I don’t even know how the workflow from FC to color should go…

  2. Dave replied:

    I might try to do a screen cast some time. I’ve thought about creating some videos based on some presentations I’ve done at the Dallas After Effects User Group.

    I learned a lot about Color going through the training at Lynda.com. I think they have some of the best bang for the buck when it comes to getting up to speed on a program. They are light in content when it comes to techniques, that’s why I really enjoy fxphd.com.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

