More iPhone Frustrations

1) Corrupted Backups:
When restoring both my iPhone and my wife’s iPhone iTunes said the backups were corrupted. I don’t know if that’s a fluke but it doesn’t give me the greatest amount of trust in the iTunes/iPhone backup system.

If you’re wondering what’s lost when a backup is corrupted. So far I can see it looses:
-User Names and passwords for applications
-Wireless networks and passwords
-Notes
-Home screen layouts
-Any customization: Favorites list in phone, ringtones, wall paper etc…

Which leads me to my second frustration:
Syncing photos doesn’t seem to work both ways.
I don’t know when it happened but iPhoto used to always pop up when my iPhone was connected. Now it doesn’t. I thought when I chose to sync my photos through iTunes it was syncing photos I took and would put them in my iPhoto library. It doesn’t. So along with loosing the above I also lost my pictures.

So the moral of the story is if it’s important to you, don’t trust the iTunes backup. Make sure you have a copy of the info or files elsewhere.

August 26, 2008. Tech Stuff.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

