Echo Thoughts

I had a great time last week at Echo. For me I had been burned out by church conferences but this was just what I needed. If you’re involved in the creative arts or technical arts this is the conference to be at next year.

Tim Stevens was not only a breakout speaker but a great note taker. Coincidence? I think not. But you can find Tim’s notes on Mark Steele, Donald Miller, Todd Wagner and Mark Batterson.

God did an amazing work in my heart. Hopefully in the future I’ll be able to share what He’s beginning in my heart. But it’s not ready now.

The main walk away point I have from this conference is don’t let _______ (fill in the blank) limit you. The focus shouldn’t be on our tools but on our message. The message we communicate everyday with out lives and the one we prepare for on the weekend.

When was the last time you walked into a restaurant and asked the chef what pots and pans she used to cook with? I know when I walk into a facility I’m checking out their tech gear. I’ve asked other artists about the tools they use. I’m more interested in their process and inspiration right now.

I don’t want to be limited by the tools, the systems, the structure, etc… from me doing my best (with the time, talent and resources I have) to creatively communicate the life changing story of Jesus. We can limit ourselves by thinking if we only had a better sound system, video camera, software, etc… we could make this better. While there is some truth to that I also don’t want to get locked in to always using a tool a certain way (I bought this filter now I want to use it on everything!)

The other major take away point is how awesome community is with other creatives. And how technology can enhance this. I was able to meet up with some great people through comments on blogs or twitter. Can I just say I’m a huge fan of twitter now! And I’ve had an explosion of people I’m meeting through twitter.

I hope to get back to blogging on a regular basis. Personally I like to have 5 posts a week. If I find something worth writing about it’s because I’m learning something. Since early July I’ve been in survival mode. Hopefully after this week I can get back into my routine of regular creative intakes.

August 20, 2008. Tags: , , , . Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

