I’m Back

I’m back from vacation and boy was it needed! My wife and our two kids (3 year old girl and 18 month old boy) spend the last 10 days in Northern California. Can I just say traveling with 2 toddlers can be a blast and a challenge!

Here’s a quick rundown of what we did:

Day 1: Traveled from Dallas, TX to San Jose, CA. Stayed at my Aunt and Uncle’s house. Took the kids to play at a park down the road.

Day 2: Loaded up the family and headed over to Santa Cruz, CA and Twin Lakes State Park to play at the beach. The kids liked the sand but didn’t like the cold water or the waves. That night we went down the coast to Capitola and had steak and lobster for dinner. We sat out on a patio over looking the beach. Very Nice!

Days 3-5: Went up to Brentwood where my Grandparents retired to. They live in a nice retirement community on a golf course. It was a family reunion of sorts over the 4th. My wife and I played golf with some of my cousins and aunts and uncles. We ate lots of food. Played some bocci ball (a very serious sport in their community) and had a great time. The whole family had a huge water balloon fight and my grandma got into a water fight using water hoses with a neighbor.

Days 6-8: Headed up to Lake Alpine in the Sierra Nevada mountains. We roughed it and stayed at a cabin up there. Grilled up steak one night and fajitas another. We stayed at Lake Alpine. It’s a beautiful country up there. We saw dear and my family saw a bald eagle while we were there.

We took a day trip to Highlands Lakes. It was higher up at 8,600 feet that we had to drive down a dirt road to reach. There was still snow up there in one spot in the shade so we had a snowball fight, slide down the snow in our swim suits and made snow angels. Then we swam in the lake.

We also took a day trip to Lake Utica. This was my favorite day of the trip. This lake is one of those special places in the world. It was down a dirt road a ways. But it’s a lake that’s surrounded by huge chunks of granite rocks. This is an awesome lake to bring canoes or kayaks to and paddle around and explore the different fingers of the lake. Big granite rocks means they can stick out of the water and drop straight down. So we found some to jump off of. Here’s me:

Taking the plunge at Lake Utica

Taking the plunge at Lake Utica

Day 9: Went back to Capitola beach with the kids. Met up with my aunt and cousins. My kids still loved the sand. My son warmed up to the water and played the timeless game of chase the water/ then run away from it. My daughter is still not a fan of the waves. That night my aunt and uncle watched the kids and I took my wife out for a very nice dinner at Morton’s Steak House in San Jose. It was a great way to end our vacation with some time together and a great meal!

Day 10: Flew back to Dallas. Our flight got canceled and instead of a direct flight we went through Orange County. So instead of getting home at 6pm we got home at 1:30 am. Lots of fun with a 3 year old and 18 month old! Gotta say getting flight notifications to your phone is awesome, makes it easy to reschedule quickly.

Day 11: Home at last. Glad I had a day off before heading back into the office. Updated my iPhone to 2.0 software so I’ll post about that later.

July 13, 2008. Tags: , , , . Random.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

