Compressor Droplets

I maybe late to the party on this but I just realized the power of compressor droplets. If you’re like me you find yourself encoding your videos to the same handful of formats all the time. Wouldn’t it be great to simplify this process? Well that’s what droplets are. Droplets are a mini-application based on a preset in compressor. The preset can be a default preset or a custom preset you create.

Here’s the quick overview of how to create a droplet:
1) In Compressor select the preset you want to create a droplet for. If it’s 2 presets like DVD video and audio encode, those presets need to be in a folder. You would then select the folder.
2) In the settings tab, at least in Compressor 3, click on the “Save Selection as a Droplet” button. It’s the middle button in the selection panel.

Now when you have a video you need to encode you simply drag it onto the droplet icon.

The droplets I have right now are for the most common formats I encode to:
-ProPresenter SD
-ProPresenter HD
-ProPresenter CD (Church Def)
-EasyWorship AVI
-DVD
-Digital Signage
-iPod/iPhone

Like I said I maybe late to the party but I thought I’d share this tip.

June 24, 2008. Tags: , , . Tech Stuff, Video.

One Comment

  1. Fujilives replied:

    ooh, I never realized you could use the whole folder, thank you – this will save me quite a bit of time.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

