Church Def

I’ve been thinking about this idea for a few weeks. But today I heard Brad Zimmerman from ChurchMediaDesign.tv (great video podcast I just found this week) being interviewed on Church Tech Talk (another favorite podcast) use the phrase “Church-Def”. It’s not Standard Def, it’s not High Def it’s Church Def.

What does Church Def mean? Well like many of you my church is using 4:3 projectors. Projectors that have a much higher resolution than 720×480. Our lower end projectors are running 1024×768 while our main projectors in the sanctuary run 1400×900 native. What if I created videos to run at the native projector resolution? High Def quality in a 4:3 aspect ration

Why not play HD clips but letterbox them? I for one don’t like letter boxing videos on our projectors. We paid too much money not to use the entire screen!

I’m trying to work out getting a new video camera that will be HD because that is the future. If I’m shooting at HD why not display in CD (Church Def)?

Content would be played out of ProPresenter which handles HD backgrounds just fine. I’m thinking I would create my content using a 720p project with guides marking my 4:3 aspect ration. I would then nest that comp into my CD comp for croping. I would archive the project in HD for future purposes.

Next video project that comes up I might try this out. I might have to wait for one that is mostly Motion Graphics where I am manipulating stills or custom content.

Anyone tried this out? Any thoughts?

April 22, 2008. Tech Stuff, Video.

3 Comments

  1. Kerner replied:

    We’ve been doing this for quite some time. We usually just crop in FCP. Some projects we’ve been doing as a pan/scan/zoom setup with 1080p footage. Overall it works really well. I don’t think most people can see the difference in quality, but I notice it.

  2. Moving To HD « creative|ideas replied:

    […] 23, 2008 by Dave We’re moving our production to HighDef. We’re still displaying in Church Def. So I’ll have to decide wether I want to display in 720p and live with the letter box or […]

  3. Church Def: For Real « creative|ideas replied:

    […] Church Def: For Real Posted on June 5, 2008 by Dave The Stephen Ministry promo I wrote about earlier this week was not only my first High Def project but also my first Church Def project. Here’s where I wrote about my first thoughts on Church Def. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

