Getting Organized

I always feel like I could be more productive. I think if I can optimize my workflows I’ll be able to stay on top of things.

Todd Henry from the Accidental Creative(a great podcast that I subscribe to the premium feed) says it’s not finding the newest organization system but finding one that works for you and sticking with it.

For awhile now I’ve been using a couple of tools:
Vitalist is a Getting Things Done web based organization tool. While I don’t following GTD strictly I have modified it for me. It’s web based so that means it’s accessible from any computer or my iPhone. I like that I can have an inbox and an action list. I also like that I can sort my to-do’s based on projects. I also like that I can assign notes to tasks.

The other tool I use is a pocket Moleskin notebook for creative thoughts and meeting notes and sketches. I call them sketches but I’m lucky if I can understand them a week later. I like being able to write my ideas down in one place so I don’t have to go looking for them later on scraps of paper. It’s small enough to take with me to meetings yet fit in a pocket.

I did find out about another tool that looks promising, Evernote. One thing I don’t do well right now is catalog creative ideas and inspiration. But this tool looks awesome for cataloging ideas. It’s in beta so hopefully I’ll get accepted.

I’m also looking forward to see what apps will be launched to run natively on the iPhone this summer.

April 10, 2008. Personal Growth, Random.

2 Comments

  1. David Sheneman replied:

    Dave,

    I’m in the Evernote beta and have some invitations if you’d like to get one directly. Let me know.

    DS

  2. Dave replied:

    DS,
    That would be great! You can send me an invite at smithville99 at gmail dot com.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

