Final Cut Pro 2 After Effects

I’m working on two testimony videos I shot last week for Easter. I shot them with two cameras (a Sony DSR-200 and a Sony PDX-10). I’ve always had a hard time balancing the look of these two cameras.

I used a camera flash as a sync point for the two cameras. It was easy enough to sync the clips together. Hopefully we’ll be able to upgrade this two cameras in the near future.

But I found I couldn’t get the look I wanted out of Final Cut’s filters. I found myself wishing for After Effects plug ins to tweak the looks. I started looking at some different options:
Magic Bullet Suite: I’ve heard great stuff about this software and it’ll run in FCP and AE. Plus Digital Juice has it for 50% off right now.
Automatic Duck: Don’t know if I can justify the cost for the times I would use this.
FCPtoAE: A script that will import an XML file into AE
Magnum AE Script: An AE script that “automatically” detects scene changes and split the layers at those points.

I’m going to try a few of the freebies and see if I can get something to work.

March 11, 2008. Tech Stuff, Video.

6 Comments

  1. KevinB replied:

    I realize I’m biased, but I hear time and time again that Automatic Duck pays for itself in one use. So depending on what kind of work you’re doing, and how often you need to import/export timelines between apps, I know a lot of people who are quite thankful they invested in the Duck. My two cents…..

  2. KevinB replied:

    On another note, speaking of FX plug ins, have you looked into Noise Industries? http://www.noiseindustries.com

  3. Dave replied:

    I’d love to be able to pick up the Duck. But I don’t know if I would use it enough to justify the cost. Most of the time when I’m making the trip from FCP to AE it’s for either green screen or color grading. Most of the time these sequences are just basic cuts. If I find myself doing more complicated work I’ll check out the duck.

    I’ve heard great stuff about noiseindustries. The only third party fx I have right now are Trapcode’s suite.

  4. KevinB replied:

    Fair enough! And Noise Industries has come a long way in a short while and are definitely worth looking into. If you’re headed to NAB next month, all these players will be there showing off their latest. I’ll be there!

  5. FCP to AE the FREE way « creative|ideas replied:

    […] FCP to AE the FREE way Posted on March 12, 2008 by Dave Just following up from my earlier post about going from FCP to AE. […]

  6. Josh Tallo replied:

    Hey guys, for those who do not want to spend the money on Automatic Duck, check out this tool we created to help everyone out wanting to move from FC to AE. And best of all it’s FREE! http://www.popcornisland.com/category/after-effects/

    Enjoy!

    The Popcorn Island Team

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

