FCP or Adobe Production

I’ve been working on this FCP to AE work flow when I had an epiphary. I have the Adobe CS3 Master Collection. It has Premiere Pro CS3 that I haven’t really used. I’m finding myself using AE more and more for my video projects so why not use the video editor that is supposed to work seamlessly with it via dynamic link?

I’m still on FCS 1. I haven’t upgraded to 2 and I don’t know if I will. I like FCP over Premiere as an editor but Adobe’s dynamic link with Photoshop, After Effect, Encore and Soundbooth seem to blow Final Cut’s round tripping out of the water. I also don’t know if I can justify the $500 upgrade when the non-profit price of CS3 Master Collection is $1k. That’s $1k for print, web, video and beyond!

So I’m going to give Premiere and the Adobe Video Suite a run through on this project. I’m hoping they are going to be pretty close. Even though I was burned by Premiere in the past. This is supposed to be a new application from the ground up. If that’s true I think it was stupid for Adobe not renaming it. Premiere burned a lot of people in the past. I’m hoping it’s going to boil down to personal preferences and which suite offers the features you need the most.

FCP has established a good market share with a vibrant and helpful user group community. Premiere is no where close. Even a quick look in Adobe’s forums shows windows post out weigh PC posts about Premiere 10 to 1. 2-Pop has about 200 forum posts about Premiere while FCP has multiple forums and over 10k posts.

Premiere has gotten little traction or buzz in the “pro” market. Not that I’m going to be editing productions on the scale of a broadcast show or movie. But it’s nice to know there is a deep well of resources and users to get help. And also if when we need to bring in freelance help. I imagine there is also more of a need for FCP editors than Premiere editors.

Several of the other ministries that shoot and edit their own videos already know FCP. I wonder how much of a learning curve it would be for them to make the jump. It’s still why we use ProTools. Someone bought it a long time ago. I learned it for some basic audio editing. Now we have several LE interfaces (002, MBox and MBox mini). But for what we do I still feel ProTools is the best tool. I just wish it played well with others without the DV toolkit.

So I’m going to give premiere a fare shake on a couple of these videos and see if it’s worth making the jump. I’ll let you know what I find.

March 11, 2008. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Jake Spurlock replied:

    Have you looked into motion? That is what keeps me in FCS. Everything that you touted about CS3 you find in FCS. It is an awesome workflow that simply, just works.

  2. Dave replied:

    I’ve been using Motion since it came out. It is a nice application. I really like it for quick backgrounds. the text animations are nice. But I feel like I have more control in AE. I can also work quicker in AE than in motion but that could just be a comfort level.

    From what I’ve heard the dynamic link in Adobe’s Production Studio is awesome. I haven’t tried it to see how it compares to FCS round tripping. I’ve felt like FCS round tripping has been a little clumsy. Maybe it’s better in FCS2. But I have used it in print work with InDesign, Photoshop and Illustrator. To place psd or ai files in InDesign. Choose to edit the file, save it and it updates in InDesign is a very nice feature.

    I really don’t want to leave FCS. I’m just trying to give Premiere a fair try.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

