Video Project: Pastor’s 50th B-Day

[edit: I hit publish before this post was finished. Hope the RSS didn’t send it out partially finished]

This is the project that has been kicking my butt the last few weeks. It’s a tribute video to our Senior Pastor for his 50th birthday. Not the most exciting video, especially if you’re not a part of our church. But it was a challenge. Over all I spent about 70 to 80 hours on it, most of that time in the last 2 weeks but it’s been a project that we’ve been working on since October or so.

Editing was done in Final Cut Pro. Motion GFX were done in After Effects and Motion. Some GFX were laid out in Photoshop. Voice over was done in ProTools. Sound Mixing was done in Sound Track Pro.

I used Ingniter Bumps for most of the text holders. This is a GREAT product. Saved me a ton of time. I would like to get a “pro” version that included either tracking data or pre-animated layers. I ran into some errors rendering the MPG video out of AE. So I converted the footage to Animation NTSC and replaced the footage. I also found some color mismatches using the included bmp files so I just time stretched my layers when I needed to hold a still.

A few background motions and audio tracks from Digital Juice. And I used Sound FX and some other elements from Video Copilot. The rest of the music was from Apple’s Soundtrack or iLife.

It’s a long video and I’m glad it’s over. Because of YouTube’s file limits it’s in 2 parts.

Part One:

Part Two:

January 16, 2008. Video.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

