Christmas Eve Countdown

We all have traditions around the holidays. One of the traditions around our church is our pastor preaches a 12 minute sermon. This year since we added the plasma displays on our stage I can make a wish of my pastor’s a reality… A 12 minute countdown timer. This way we can use our projector screens for sermon points and illustrations and have this timer run on the plasmas.  

The video was created in After Effects. I used Girls Are Weird font from http://www.dafont.com. The visual elements are from Digital Juice Editor’s Toolkit 9  

Here’s how I did it. I created a 12 minute comp. Created a solid layer. Applied the generate numbers effect. Type set to timecode and adjusted the parameters to taste. I precomposed the layer. Masked out the numbers I didn’t want. I then enabled time remapping of the layer and keyframed it to play backwards. 

I then took 234 Overlay 1 from the editor’s toolkit and motion tracked it’s motion, rotation and scale onto a null object. I parented the my countdown layer and 234 Motion Design Element 1 to the null object. The layer order is null, overlay, countdown, motion design element. This allowed the countdown to have snow infront and behind the numbers.  I extended this to 12 minutes by reinterpeting the footage for the Digital Juice elements. I copied the keyframes on the null multiple times to fill the 12 minutes.   

The motion tracking isn’t perfect. And I’m don’t think my foreground and background video clips have the same motion, scale, timing etc… If you look close at the original video the mistakes could possible pass as reflections from the glass. But these video are going to be on plasmas that will be viewed from quite a distance away. I need to see if the font is going to be big enough.  

December 11, 2007. Video.

2 Comments

  1. Free Christmas Eve Countdown « creative|ideas replied:

    […] Free Christmas Eve Countdown Posted on December 23, 2008 by Dave A year ago I was using YouTube to post videos. Since then I’ve discovered the awsomeness of Vimeo. Anyway we’re reusing this countdown I created last year. You can read about how I made it in an old post Christmas Eve Countdown […]

  2. Creative Church Media » Blog Archive » Free Christmas Eve Countdown replied:

    […] A year ago I was using YouTube to post videos. Since then I’ve discovered the awsomeness of Vimeo. Anyway we’re reusing this countdown I created last year. You can read about how I made it in an old post Christmas Eve Countdown […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

