How Much Time Is Too Much Time

Like I said in my last post I got a lot of positive feedback from the video. But I ran out of time to include more content. I cut about half of the script I have.

I know I have a tendency to focus on working out a technical or artistic detail that 95% of people won’t notice. When I first was learning to edit video it was painfully slow. I remember it would take my almost 4 hours to edit 1 minute of video. Some of it was learning the program. Some of it was learning the basic fundamentals of editing. Some of it was learning how to handle the technical difficulties that always arise.

Motion Graphics is much more time intensive than video editing. Both in the learning curve of the program (After Effects), creative use of the tools and in the time it takes to pull of a project. A motion graphics project by it’s nature is more complex.

So how much time is too much time to spend on a project? This Mind Game project I spent about 25 hours on a 1 minute and 15 second spot. That was writing the script, searching for the elements and animating. I don’t know how much of my time spent on this project was due to: 85% of the time I spent on this I was not able to focus, deciding on a creative decision, I don’t know AE as well as I know Final Cut Pro.

But did the extra animation I put in add that much more to the project? If I would have set up the scenes and use a transition between each scene compared to animating the red bar around, would it have hurt the project? It would have cut my time down to about 10 hours instead of 25?

These are just my thought process. I need to make sure I’m being a good steward of my time since I’m the only media guy at my church.

October 2, 2007. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

