CS3 Master Suite Finally Here

As I said the other day I’ve been working on a MacBook Pro. That means it’s running intel chips and I’ve been working with Adobe’s Creative Suite CS2 and Macromedia Studio MX2004. Both of those suites are not native so they run slower under Rosetta. Granted those apps under Rosetta are still faster than my old PowerBook.

Well the CS3 Master Suite finally got here yesterday. I went with the Master Suite because to get the Design Suite + After Effects with their non-profit pricing was less than $100 to get the master collection.

The collection came in 3 DVD cases. 1st case had 4 DVDs for the applications. 2nd case had 2 disks: 1 for content and 1 for On Location which looks very cool but has to run under windows. 3rd case has a disk from Lynda.com with 13 hours of training for the suite.

I removed any CS3 trials and betas and used the Adobe CS3 Clean Up Script. Instillation took about 2.5 hours. It took about 20 GB of hard drive space. Overall it went smoothly.

So far the apps are much faster than their CS2 counterparts. Launching 50% to 70% faster after a restart. I haven’t spent enough time digging though the apps to really comment on them as a whole but I will soon.

I don’t know if I’ll keep the whole video suite installed. PremierePro/ Encoe/ Soundbooth take up about 10 GB. Won’t run on my G5 because they require an Intel-Mac. And I have and know Final Cut Pro. I started on FCP 2 and currently have Final Cut Studio 1.

Now I can de-authorize CS2 and Studio MX2004 and move them over to my old PowerBook for someone else at church to use.

Anyway it’s getting late and I need to get some work done.

July 13, 2007. Tech Stuff.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

