On My iPod: The Decemberists

Part of my personality is obsessive. I will go on kicks of listening to the same song/ band for a month and get burned out by it. The same will go with food. For awhile I loved Pot Belly Italian sandwiches, then it was chick-fil-a fries, now it’s Chipolte Carnitas Burrito Bowls and Sonic cranberry limeades.

That said I’ve been listening to The Crane Wife by The Decemberists at least 4 times a week since March. For me that’s a long time. It’s something about the music mixed with the poetry. I like how they weave the Chinese story of the crane wife into the lyrics of several songs. I think there is also some songs about Shakespeare’s “The Tempest”. It gives the album a nice feel.

I’ve listened to some of their other albums and they haven’t caught me. Anyway that’s a little look into my personality and what’s been getting lots of plays on my iPod

June 27, 2007. Music.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

